University of Delhi

University of Delhi

Delhi ,India


About the DU

The University of Delhi was established in 1922 as a unitary, teaching and residential university by an Act of the then Central Legislative Assembly. Only three colleges existed then in Delhi:

  • St. Stephens College founded in 1881,
  • Hindu College founded in 1899
  • Ramjas College founded in 1917,
which were affiliated to the University. In October 1933, the University offices and the Library shifted to the Viceregal Lodge Estate, and till today this site is the nucleus of the University (Main Campus). Over the last even decades the University has grown into one of the largest universities in India. At present, there are
  • 14 Faculties,
  • 86 Academic departments
  • 79 Colleges
spread all over the city. the University in the early seventies initiated a new organizational pattern based on the multi-campus concept. When the University Grants Commission started establishing Centres of Advanced Studies in the country, 6 were awarded to the University of Delhi out of a total of 18 such centres in the early sixties.


University of Delhi,
Delhi,Delhi - 110007

011 - 27667011/ 27667190
Facebook Twitter Google LinkedIn
No comments to display
Login to comment